What is Gratitude?

Grattitude can be a way of refocusing your sense of wellbeing and giving you a different perspective on how to appreciate life, but what is it and what can it do for you?

  • The art of having enough
  • Studies have shown that people who actively express gratitude are able to control their impulse better and can think clearly
  • “As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” – John F. Kennedy
  • Addicts are plagued by automatic negative thoughts (irrational belief systems, biased towards negative thoughts, self-anxietizing states, fear)

We need to replace anxiety, doubt, fear with optimism, hope and positive enhancing thoughts.

Gratitude list:

 Think about the importance of a daily gratitude list.  Write ten things you are grateful for.  They can be things like:

  • I am no physical pain
  • I ate well this morning
  • People around you
  • Emotional state
  • Being without discomfort

 

How to write affirmations

  • Make your affirmations short so they’re easier for you to remember. Even statements as short as four or five words can be powerful.
  • Start your affirmations with “I” or “My.” Because you’re making a statement about yourself, it’s most effective if it starts with you. “I choose to be positive” is much better than “Positive thoughts are coming into my mind.”
  • Write your affirmations in the present tense. Write as though you’re experiencing what you desire right now, not in the future. For example, “I easily see my own worth and value” is superior to “I will easily see my own worth and value.” It’s also better not to put a time frame on your affirmation such as a certain date or “within three months,” because doing so limits when what you desire can happen.
  • Don’t begin your affirmations with “I want” or “I need.” You don’t want to affirm that you’re wanting and needing. Rather, write your affirmations as an expression of being grateful for already having and being what you want.
  • Make sure all your affirmations are positive statements. If you tell yourself you are discarding negative behavior and thoughts, your focus will be on those rather than on what you want to do and be. Don’t include words like “don’t,” “won’t,” “am not,” “can’t,” “not,” “doesn’t,” or “am stopping.” Instead of “I’m eliminating my miserable thoughts,” create an affirmation such as, “I’m happy being who I am.”

(2014 S. Renee Smith, Vivian Harte)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

